a couple questions for a possible build

DF313
Fantasy
2408th
12/27/2016 9:07am
Hey I just had a couple questions for a possible build. I really want to build a bike from top to bottom and go through everything. I have never done it before, but that's not a bother you have to learn somehow. My questions would be, 1. I assume that these bikes usually end up costing a bit more once they are finished than if I just bought a decent already running bike. Is that correct? Also, are there any bikes that parts are particularly easy or hard to find? I was thinking any major brand 2 stroke from the last 15 years should be easy to find and somewhat less expensive, but I know nothing on the subject so I could be wrong.. Any tips you could throw out that might help me avoid some costly pitfalls?

Thanks in advance!
|
DJS721
12/27/2016 9:19am
IMO: when you buy a 10 plus year old bike used, even if the bike is in great shape (according to the listing...), you should go through most everything to assure the integrity of the main functioning systems. Suspension, engine, wheels, brakes....so it just is my approach to spend less on the donor and more on the build. This is my approach, and I end up with the key areas of the bike exactly how I want them. Even a bike in good shape for more money will require you to look at some spend to get things right.

In the end, no magic formula but my approach is spend less initially (within reason) and more on the build. Watch out for major cost areas like a swingarm nearly cut in half by the chain, welded crankcases, dry suspension, cobwebbed air filters, drooping footpegs...

For my money, a late model YZ or RM will give great performance and are still somewhat reasonable to buy used. KX's are quirky, and Honda's seem to get more money in our area of the country. Not a fan of 10-15 year old KTM's, just my opinion they are costly and strange handlers

Good luck with your project
BAMX
12/27/2016 10:21am
DF313 wrote: