Going to be a father....

Edited Date/Time 7/26/2017 9:01pm
So I got the news recently that Im going to be a father. The overflow of emotions is pretty crazy, but Im more excited than anything right now.

My girlfriend has ridden since shes 4 and comes to the track with me regularly. She adamant about me riding next year with a newborn seeing as Im mostly done with racing and just ride for fun at the track a few times a week. Im a little skeptical about it however as I want to be there for her, the child and not be hobbling around if I get hurt or something. We both have stable careers with a sick bank (Shes a cop. Im a Firefighter), our own homes and financial stability.

So my question is this. How did life change for those of you who are fathers with a newborn both on and off the bike? Did you pack it in for a few years or ride still? Riding is a stress relief for me which I think is important. But my only concern when the time comes is being an awesome father and spouse. Diapers > C12. Thanks in advance
|
Tbteam
7/25/2017 6:54am
I'm a father of three girls, 11, 17 and 19. I actually got back into riding when they were all under 10.

Being a father is more important than any motorcycle, sport, activity or hobby, but spending time together doing these things can really help a family stay close.

Whether you ride or not is immaterial. Love your kid.
KennyT
Fantasy
280th
7/25/2017 6:56am Edited Date/Time 7/25/2017 7:00am
Congratulations! Life will be different for you but unbelievably better.