Works Ohlins Yamaha YZ360 doesn't meet minimum friend requirement for Farleigh

Edited Date/Time 1/22/2022 8:14am
I have been hesitant to put this build on this forum, because to be totally honest, I don't like most forum people, so we can just get that out of the way. The few of you out there who know what you're looking at, this ones for you. The few of you who maybe don't know what you're looking at, but are interested in learning more, this is for you, too. The majority of you who'd rather argue the ramifications of Ken Roczen not tagging his current underwear sponsor in his latest IG post probably won't find much here.

There will be a lot of text. Feel free, rather than complaining, to just look at the pictures. I got a degree that way, so you can look at dirtbikes that way without bitching, if you're not into reading. I'm not even reading this.

Just saving folks some time on the front side, I know how precious a commodity that is.

There won't be perfect chronology. The bike is 90% complete as of 8/26/20.

In the early 90s, I decided that the Ohlins 360 was the coolest thing I had ever seen and eventually I'd build one. Larry Brooks, Kyle Lewis, and Shawn Kalos holeshotting works 500s on Noleen 360s just resonated with me in '93. They seemed so much more nimble, and entered corners like a 250, but exited like a 500.

In 1988, Ohlins developed an open class kit to address Yamaha's lack of a water cooled Open bike. The idea, it would appear, was to use Yamaha parts, virtually all Yamaha parts, save for the cylinder and head itself, and a 360-specific exhaust. There were, or so I've heard but not verified, 999 of these made.

There are a lot of common misconceptions with this set up. The two big ones I hear a lot are:

"It's a big bore kit." - No, its really an entire engine package that uses 250 cases and transmission. Drop this cylinder, head, piston, and rod into a YZ250 and it wont make it across the yard in one piece.