10w 40 in 2 stroke premix

12/27/2019 3:04am Edited Date/Time 12/31/2019 12:05pm
I’m new to owning a 2 stroke , I bought a new 2019 gas gas ec300.
Now the guy in the shop told me to use motul 10w 40 for pre mix. Since I bought the bike it has not been idling properly, I’ve been reading online and I’ve found out I could have done damage to the bike using this oil. The bike currently has 4 hours and I’ve only ran a full tank with the 10w 40 after the bike ran out with what the shop put in.
I’ve now drained the tank and will be going back in the shop tomorrow to see why they told me to use 4t oil in the bike. I’m asking on here if there would be any severe damage done to my new bike from this oil.
Thanks
|
12/27/2019 3:30am
I have seen pistons totally scratched up from using motor oil instead of using twostroke oil in the fuel.
You could be lucky , but i would inspect true exhaust port first.

ns503
12/27/2019 4:59am
Whistling
zippytech
12/27/2019 6:15am
When I was a kid I seen other kids push a bike to the gas pump, put gas in then put a few glop's of motor oil in the bike and shake the bike like hell and take off.

I would not run it. I would get some yamalube R
Wandell
12/27/2019 6:18am
Could you have misunderstood when the shop told you to run 10w40 oil in the transmission?

The Shop

12/27/2019 6:18am
I know of a guy that runs 1980s twinshock bikes- 400-500cc Maicos and that type of thing. He uses 10/40 oil for pre-mix also! I know, I couldn’t believe it either. I don’t remember what ratio he used though, but he’s used it forever and will continue to.

I guess, oil is oil to some extent... if you put a quantity of any oil in petroleum it will by virtue become more lubricative than straight petrol. But you must know your ratios to get it right.

That said, all the time there’s two-stroke oil on the market & available, why would you even think about using something else??
mx621
12/27/2019 7:07am