50/50 avgas mixed with 95?

Tracktor
9/12/2019 2:53pm
Oy, AvGas in and of itself is a great option. However, what octane you should run is a component of engine set up. Run the fuel/octane that matches compression ratio, etc.
I set our engines up to run a 50/50 AV & non-ethanol premium mix. It's easy to get, not too expensive, has decent octane rating and is consistent as I buy from same places every time. Since our bikes are set up for it they run great. But put that same fuel in a high compression engine and it may have problems & in a stocker may lose power.
It's my understanding that the only real "power in a can" is oxygenated stuf but even then your jetting is going to change.

We run the above fuel in TC85, TC105 & a couple of TC125's among other things. Pistons wear great and bikes run stellar............
ctbale
9/16/2019 1:34pm Edited Date/Time 9/16/2019 1:43pm
I am an Aircraft Mechanic and raced 2 strokes back in the 70s so you can trust my advice. Smile Its a hassel to get the avgas and your not going to save a bucket of money .... but if I were running 2 strokes today and if my bike detonated on 92 non ethanol I would use race gas or the 50/50 mix of 92clear pump and 100LL, 50/50 mix would be my first choice.
9/16/2019 2:20pm
Mixing fuels, getting avgas etc etc, your waisting your time. I've put numerous people onto this stuff who have been suffering pinging (detonation) or want to run avgas or race gas. This is all you need.
Non ethanol pump gas and add this octane booster / fuel stabiliser
https://www.nulon.com.au/products/pro-strength-additives/pro-strength-o…

The Shop

dmm698
9/16/2019 3:26pm Edited Date/Time 9/16/2019 3:29pm
TeamGreen wrote:
Interesting reading: but, it starts out with someone having 95 Oct rated fuel available and then they mix it with AV gas? Seems to me a...