Elitist mentality among streetbikers

4/5/2018 11:58am Edited Date/Time 4/6/2018 12:31pm
A few weeks when I was at the dealer buying my new bike, I overheard some guy scoffing as he told his son, “who would pay that amount of money for a bike you can’t ride on the street?”

A little over a year ago I applied to work at a small motorcycle dealership. I told the interviewer how I’ve been riding since I was 5 years old, and motocross has always been a passion of mine. He was more concerned about my experience with streetbikes. I told him that stories about road accidents scared me away from them. That led to me being lectured about how streetbikes being unsafe is a common misconception, and that I can be just as easily hurt while in a car accident.

Not trying to paint with a broad brush and label all streetbikers as having an elitist mentality, but just curious if anyone else experienced this type of behavior.
|
RonSkj
Fantasy
141st
4/5/2018 12:00pm
Not me, cuz I ride both!
TJMX947
4/5/2018 12:22pm
I think there is an elitist side to most guys who ride motorcycles but haven't ever ridden on a track.

Same with douchebags and their fast cars. Yes you look cool weaving in and out of traffic during rush hour but you would be severely humbled on a road course, as would any street biker or guy who thinks he's a great rider because he shreds fields with his friends and can do a poppa wheelie really well. Put them on a track with the goal of going as fast as you can for a set amount of laps and it will paint the picture really quick that they aren't as good as they thought they were.
jnickell
Fantasy
1874th
4/5/2018 12:53pm Edited Date/Time 4/5/2018 12:55pm