How to become a flagger at the Nationals?

TDeath21
It's something I've always wanted to do, but never really taken the initiative to do so. After seeing the flaggers fail and could have easily caused an unnecessary injury to Bogle or Cianciarulo, I figure I should try to be the change I wish to see.

How would I go about doing this though? I have no idea. I have checked nationals websites and I don't see anything. For what it's worth, I have over 10 years of officiating experience in varsity high school football and basketball, so that will obviously be an experience that can be applied to being a flagger. I have local race experience, but I've obviously never ridden professionally. Again though, that's experience that can be applied. I'd like to try to help out if I can. Where do I start? Local tracks and work my way up? Try to just call or email the national tracks to see if I can do it there? I know they probably don't get paid much if anything, but if I could make the drive to a national on a free weekend, I'd like to help out if I can. But, I have no clue where to start. Can anyone here help me? I understand this season is probably a wash, but this can be a good reference for me in the future.
|
9/8/2020 5:00pm Edited Date/Time 9/8/2020 5:00pm
just fall asleep on the side of the track and they'll put some flags next to you. you'll be just as useful.

I'm not one to normally complain about flaggers, but the weekend was ridiculous. Not a single flag up during the practice pileup until after 3 or 4 guys had gone down???

Then during the race, flaggers were waving the blue flag at guys that were in a position battle! do they just think if someone is trying to pass, wave the blue flag??
VetRider97
9/8/2020 6:51pm
Drink all night and show up at sunrise you're in.

All kidding aside, flagging moto makes for long day and they need better trained and paid flaggers.
I'v seen too many unnecessary injuries due to poor flagging.

The Shop

Elbows
Fantasy
1171st