MX Gear for Beginner

EriCS1991
Edited Date/Time 7/10/2020 10:37am
Any suggestions on Mx gear for beginner? Curious to see what helmets, chest protector and pants and jersey combo would be a good choice that doesn’t break the bank. I currently have an older pair of Fox F3 boots that have been barely used that I will dust off. I was looking at the Fox V1 or V2 helmets as well as the Leatt 4.5 gpx. As far as jersey and pants the Fly kinetic, Fox 180, and Leatt 4.5.
|
7/9/2020 6:22am
As a beginner, I'd say a quality helmet, boots, and knee/shin pads are the bare minimum you should have. Its always kind of tough to recommend stuff to a beginner, you don't want them to break the bank, but how much is your safety worth to you? If I was just starting out I wouldn't put my head in a brain bucket that was less than $300 (I currently wear a Shoei), but the Fox V2 at $250 should be good. As far as jersey/pants/gloves, I don't think any one brand will protect you any better than any other brand. Most brands should be dropping their 2021 lines soon so the 2020 stuff you should be able to get a good deal on, even on some of the higher end tiers. Haven't worn a neckbrace since 2010 so I can't help you there. If you do get one, maybe find a compatible chest protector that will go with it for comfort.
EngIceDave
7/9/2020 6:27am
As a beginner, I'd say a quality helmet, boots, and knee/shin pads are the bare minimum you should have. Its always kind of tough to recommend...