MX noob in Oregon

7/30/2017 11:03pm
Does this website not have regional forums?.. oh well, here goes...
I live near Portland, Oregon and I've only ridden trails so far, I love it.. but after checking out Thursday night mx at PIR and Mt. View MX, I've decided I want to ride on a track. I'm not getting all hyped up about it like I'll be any good.. I just want to be able to fit in on the practice days we have at the tracks around here.
Problem is, the 'practice' days seem pretty serious to a total mx noob. I would definitely not feel comfortable just lining up with 20 other dudes and hitting the throttle. I wish they would let you practice with like 5 guys at a time instead of 20. My first lap around id want to go hella slow, just to get the feel for it, but these guys are ripping it up.
I've been riding for over a year on the trails... I started slow, and now I can ride pretty hard, so I'm not a total noob to dirt bikes.
I'm about to buy a ktm 250 sx. And I want to ride her on the track.
Anyone out this way have any suggestions?
|
7/30/2017 11:17pm
To be honest, don't think about it..
The "fast" Guys gets around you I promise. Go that speed you are comfortable with, and keep your line and don't cross over straights or jumps, you'll be fine Smile

If there are huge jumps with blind spots, just take a peek over your shoulder before to see what's coming up behind.

And please,don't go wfo before a jump and brake to an almost stop in the takeoff Smile

Most importantly, have fun and hang loose Laughing
7/31/2017 9:35am
To be honest, don't think about it.. The "fast" Guys gets around you I promise. Go that speed you are comfortable with, and keep your line...
To be honest, don't think about it..
The "fast" Guys gets around you I promise. Go that speed you are comfortable with, and keep your line and don't cross over straights or jumps, you'll be fine Smile

If there are huge jumps with blind spots, just take a peek over your shoulder before to see what's coming up behind.