Motor home conversions needs vs wants!!.

10/27/2017 6:32pm

?
Hi all.  I am looking to purchase a van to convert into a motorhome either a Sprinter, master, transit or ducato . Will be a long wheel base having to get mx bikes in or mountain bikes/ go kart etc.  I will be sticking to one of these platforms.

This will be a project to sell on to the public creating a business. I am a vehicle builder by trade and looking at the general requirements in the market so my personal wants are irrelivent.  A survey if you will. ?

This thread is to discuss everyone's experiences with these specific vehicles and what You have found to be of value or no value with a conversion.

Let's say needs vs wants, or neccessaty conversion items vs non neccessaty. 

Examples. 

1. Indoor shower really needed or just outdoor shower

2. Hot water systems; gas, diesel, blown air heater or combo units

3. Electronics. Tv. Blue ray. Solar. Standard agm batteries vs lithium ion( worth the expense for lithium)

4. AC UNIT.  Being 240v (Australia) are they worth it or not generally having 240v available at the track or worth the expense of lithium ion and large solar systems to maybe run the AC via inverter.

5. 2 maxi fans adequate for cooling on those hot days?

6. sleeping 2, 3 or 4   vs seating. 2, 3 or 4 seats .one double bed enough above garage space or flip down beds x4 more realistic so that will give 2 seat belted extra seats behind driver and passenger seats.? ( keeping sleeping births equal to seats.)

7. Annex around the awning a need or awning shade enough? Rear door shade? Drivers side shade? 

8. Cooking. Kitchenette in the vehicle with hot cold water sink and 2 burner gas hob  or maybe induction 240v or even diesel induction by webasto. 

These are just A few ideas and if you have found some neccessary or wasteful expensive luxury not needed in a motorhome/ toy hauler.

Link just for attention of what I'm looking at. Maybe overkill..