Mx careers

shirey
Fantasy
4092nd
I am a nursing student and would like to work in the sport. Obviously it’s next to impossible to get on the asterisk medical team, but what are other options. Do the race teams keep medical staff? Big facilities like club mx? There has to be some kind of niche opportunity for a nurse who isn’t afraid to spin a wrench or help out somewhere else and loves moto.
|
suzukiread240
7/11/2018 7:04am
I don't know about Moto Teams having a medical staff but I used to go to Kerlan Jobe sports medicine clinic in SoCal when I had to have surgeries. They might know something. https://kerlanjobe.org/services/sports-medicine/
Or the guys at http://www.motorcycleindustryjobs.com/ They seem to have a lot of good stuff. Good Luck! Hope you can find that rad dream job!
Ted722
7/11/2018 7:38am
Still reach out to the groups you mentioned. Could even make it a project as part of your current studies. Get in front of them face to face or at least over the phone. Inquire about an Internship program with them or create one for yourself..paid or unpaid.. At the very least, if there's nothing for you at this time, pick their brain on their path. It might take some time (years), but if you know where you want to end up, you'll get there.

As mentioned above, look into the local scene as well. Any experience to help build that resume is good experience. Local professional teams (soccer, baseball, etc.) for real world sports related experience. Your willingness to keep your options open will only benefit your desired long term goal.
JWACK
7/11/2018 8:55am
I hear Glen Helen is looking for flaggers!
Falcon
Fantasy
798th
7/11/2018 8:58am
Someone has to work for Asterisk; it may as well be you. Go to the races and talk to Doc Bodnar. Make yourself familiar to him as much as you can and stick with it. You may not get a job immediately (or ever,) but I bet your chances will get a lot better if you make yourself known.