My Wife's Brutal Truth About My Motocross Racing & Bikes...

Zoom
Edited Date/Time 2/19/2020 10:18pm
Thought I would share this story from a couple of years ago.

Little background. We have been married for 35 years. We were dating when I was a pro back in the mid 80's. More recently she helped train two of our kids when they went to Lorettta's a few years ago. She know what's up at the track.

I was riding in the Over 50 class at the Texas Winter Series at Freestone on my 450 KTM. The announcers where having a bunch of fun hyping up the class as the "rematch from the 84 Houston SX" as I was lined up with my buddy Mike Clement.

Clem and I had many good battles back in the day. I won some, but Clem won most of them. I always gave him a hard time for beating him in the semi in the 84 Houston SX and getting the last transfer spot to the LCQ. 84 was the last year of just one class in SX and they allowed 72 riders to the night show. So making to the LCQ was a goal for some of us "local pro's."

We had about 12 riders at Freestone that day and Clem pulled the holeshot with me in second. We finished the first lap about a bike length apart. About mid way around the second lap I was able to pull next to Clem and had the inside for the next turn. With the pass made I hit the brakes going to the inside and stalled the bike. I had a Rekluse clutch which is almost impossible to stall, but I some how managed to stall it. I immediately start pushing the e start button and eventually run down the battery. You can't push start a bike with a Rekluse clutch!

With the help of a friend I pushed the bike back to the pits. As I start peeling off my gear, this is what my wife says, "That was the worse I have ever seen you ride. I was embarrassed. After the first lap I quit watching." I agreed that I was fighting the bike in the long and deep Freestone ruts and felt like a goon.