Need advice on a sale that is "possibly" went south.

Marty1028
Fantasy
994th
Edited Date/Time 3/4/2020 6:56am
I recently just sold my bike to a kid. He started it up and rode it around for 5 or so minutes, claimed he liked it and would buy the bike. Same day roughly 9 hours later he claims he rode it more and it "locked up". Kid sounds like he wants his money back. What should i do? Its my first time ever selling a bike.
|
Berm
Fantasy
136th
3/1/2020 12:37pm
No returns - not to be a dick, but you have no idea what happened in those 9 hours. It ran when you sold it, it ran before you sold it. As far as you're concerned, this is either bad luck, or they messed up.
Tryhard
3/1/2020 12:40pm
Berm wrote:
No returns - not to be a dick, but you have no idea what happened in those 9 hours. It ran when you sold it, it...
No returns - not to be a dick, but you have no idea what happened in those 9 hours. It ran when you sold it, it ran before you sold it. As far as you're concerned, this is either bad luck, or they messed up.
Yeah what this guy says , tell the guy warranties are for dealerships. When you buy used you buy as is sometimes this means , you buy what was inevitably coming to the original owner , someone else's problems , or potentially a good deal . Buying used is always a gamble. Good luck , but no do not give him his money back . Put it in the bank .
xrmark
3/1/2020 12:40pm
It ran when you sold it. Kid could be doing wheelies holding that thing wide open up and down the street for all you know. You don't give him his money back. Sucks to be the dick but you did nothing wrong. Text him back saying sorry it ran when i sold it to you and had no problems. Price you pay when taking a gamble and buying a used bike.
3/1/2020 12:43pm
This is why you write out a bill of sale stating it's used sold as in no warranty and have both parties sign it.

The Shop

3/1/2020 12:45pm