Toy Haulers!

sgrimmxdad
Fantasy
1957th
Edited Date/Time 2/17/2018 3:44pm
I have to get rid of my Class A RV and I am looking at 5th wheel Toy Haulers. Reviews on the net of the vast majority of them are nightmareish. Are there any quality haulers made anymore or has the Thor crowd ruined the industry?

What do you guys have and what are the pros and cons or yours?
|
2/17/2018 2:25am
I’m an RV/trailer technician and unfortunately in my experience (live in Oregon, rains 9-10 months of the year, toy haulers around here 9 times out of 10 have some kind of water damage). The crowd that uses toy haulers is generally just hard on their equipment.

One thing I’d recommend is maintain the thing! Toy haulers are made to be light weight and generally just a cargo trailer with a small living space and kitchen, so you’ll notice a quality difference from your class A immediately. Depending on where you live, check out the roof every month or so to make sure there’s no holes, and check the seals around the appliances for cracks, tears of such. The smallest crack in an appliance seal can cause water damage.

Thor makes a good trailer but forest river makes good product as well. Weekend warrior is generally a no-go due to their front cap leaks. In general, most toy haulers won’t be near the same quality as your Class-A, but they are out there.
sgrimmxdad
Fantasy
1957th
2/17/2018 3:09am
Thanks for the reply. Is there a brand you would buy if you where looking? I truly value opinions from people in the know!

MudPup545
2/17/2018 5:33am
We've owned our Forest River for 5 years. Ours isn't a 5th wheel but, comes out of the same factory. Zero issues with leaks, not a drop of water has made it inside. I am fortunate in that I'm able to store it indoors for the winter though. I'm able to avoid the freeze/thaw cycles of our Michigan winter's. I keep up on the door/window seal maintenance too.
Brad460
Fantasy
736th
2/17/2018 5:45am Edited Date/Time 2/17/2018 5:46am