Anyone race cars?

aual4518
Edited Date/Time 8/30/2019 5:55am
I have always dreamed of racing cars but haven’t really had the means until now. I have no experience at all in car racing and don’t have anyone close to me who races. I have a engineering degree so half the fun to me would be building the car but I honestly wouldn’t know where to start. Is there any information out there on how?

How would I go about getting started? I have thought about buying a go kart but I’m a little on the heavy side for those(225 lbs). I also have an old Pontiac sunfire that would be a mediocre buzz class car from the info I can find but I don’t know a ton about building a cage for it.
|
JAFO92
8/16/2019 7:20am Edited Date/Time 8/16/2019 7:24am
Go to your closest dirt track, buy a pit pass, walk up to the first car that catches your eye and tell the guys around it you wanna work and learn. Keep your head on a swivel and pay attention to everything you hear and see.

Buy you a Jimmy Sills book on whatever car you prefer (open wheel or fenders) and learn about rolls centers, cross weight, CG, sprung vs unsprung weight, steering ackerman, bump-steer, nuances of caster/camber/toe, reasons for spring rates, reasons for multivalve shocks (tie-down - easy-up, etc.)

Pay your dues and start at the bottom. Its worth the effort.

Sweetd31
8/16/2019 10:04am
Mazda Miata, cant go wrong there
scott_nz
Fantasy
840th
8/16/2019 10:24am
JAFO92 wrote:
Go to your closest dirt track, buy a pit pass, walk up to the first car that catches your eye and tell the guys around it...
Go to your closest dirt track, buy a pit pass, walk up to the first car that catches your eye and tell the guys around it you wanna work and learn. Keep your head on a swivel and pay attention to everything you hear and see.