Honda CR125 1991(dyno video + charts) + CR125 1992 + YZ125 1996

NiekL
11/27/2017 11:13pm Edited Date/Time 8/22/2021 6:47am
Hi Guys, i thought it was time to share my project bike, a Honda CR125 from 1992 build in the 1991 colorways.

I'm a bike mechanic for a living for over 13 years , 29 years old from Holland.I always had the idea to build myself a nice vintage bike. Here in Holland we mainly have deeper sand compared to the tracks all over the rest off the world, so finding a good base bike is a little more difficult!

The main reason i chose a Honda is because i really like the quality of the CR twostrokes from the 90's. When working on modern bike engines, i see less and less material being used for making engine cases and bike frames. When wrenching on the 'older' Honda engines i always thought there is a reason why the 90's cr models are still riding around this much.

The main target i had was build a nice vintage racebike, it had to look like new, at the same time it still needed to stay a under 4k all in budget bikeGrinning

Found this bike as a good base:

So i started stripping the bikeWhistling

Had to cut out the swingarm axle after trying every trick i had.

The previous owner rode with a swingarm nut that was nog tightened, so the swingarm axle hole was beatened! I decided to search for a frame that was all healthy, found one from Dirk Timmer. After that i got the frame checked by a good welder and a guy who knows where these frames have there weak spots.

Thanks for the interest, updates coming shortly!

|
wolfy0067
11/28/2017 9:30am
You should be able to straighten that left radiator pretty easy, I just lay the bent side on a flat bench, with a channel lock plyers on the radiator edge and the lower jaw under the bench top squeeze slowly and evenly across the entire outer brace surface till straight, then work on the fins to reopen with a small flat blade screwdriver. Enjoy your build.
NiekL
11/28/2017 12:32pm
NiekL wrote: