2001 RM250 running rough

yamahaha131
5/31/2018 7:15pm Edited Date/Time 6/1/2018 7:15am
Borrowing a buddy’s bike for a 2t shoutout but he told me his last ride it started running rough out of nowhere. No change was made to the bike. At idle it Revs up fine but riding it under a load it spudders/ flutters low to mid until you get into the powerband/top end. I’ve cleaned main/ pilot jet. Carb bowl didn’t have dirt or anything in it and it stills runs poor. I pulled the vforce reeds which seem tight but have slightly chewed up corners. Is this enough to cause it to run poorly? (See photos below) I am no mechanic but going over the basics. I’ve been on 4 strokes most of my racing life and fuel injection for 5-6 years with limited carb knowledge. Thanks for any input.

|
portroyal
5/31/2018 7:23pm
Borrowing a buddy’s bike for a 2t shoutout but he told me his last ride it started running rough out of nowhere. No change was made...
Borrowing a buddy’s bike for a 2t shoutout but he told me his last ride it started running rough out of nowhere. No change was made to the bike. At idle it Revs up fine but riding it under a load it spudders/ flutters low to mid until you get into the powerband/top end. I’ve cleaned main/ pilot jet. Carb bowl didn’t have dirt or anything in it and it stills runs poor. I pulled the vforce reeds which seem tight but have slightly chewed up corners. Is this enough to cause it to run poorly? (See photos below) I am no mechanic but going over the basics. I’ve been on 4 strokes most of my racing life and fuel injection for 5-6 years with limited carb knowledge. Thanks for any input.

When you pulled the carb apart did you check the needle valve (it’s the little guy that sits by the float usually held up by two little wire like retainers), a lot of times these get scratched up or they aren’t sitting correctly due to the float not being adjusted correctly, which bring me to my next question;