Fork Seal Replacement - Outer Chamber Only?

mrchilly
Edited Date/Time 1/19/2019 3:29pm
I've never done fork seals before. When replacing the seals on Showa 49mm Spring forks can I just put fresh oil in the outer chamber only? In other words are the inner and outer chamber oils separate from each other? These forks have only done about 10 hours.
|
DaveJ
1/23/2019 7:00pm
mrchilly wrote:
I've never done fork seals before. When replacing the seals on Showa 49mm Spring forks can I just put fresh oil in the outer chamber only...
I've never done fork seals before. When replacing the seals on Showa 49mm Spring forks can I just put fresh oil in the outer chamber only? In other words are the inner and outer chamber oils separate from each other? These forks have only done about 10 hours.
Technically you don't have to put new oil in either one. And you don't have to dump any oil out if you're just replacing the seal. There are ways.

Now...that said, maybe you're thinking about servicing the fork at the same time you have them apart. In that case, you will find that the outer fluid is dirtier and in need of replacement more often than the inner chamber oil. This is because nearly all of the "soot" in a fork comes from the spring rubbing on the inside of the lower tube.
1/24/2019 12:15am
mrchilly wrote:
I've never done fork seals before. When replacing the seals on Showa 49mm Spring forks can I just put fresh oil in the outer chamber only...
DaveJ wrote:
Technically you don't have to put new oil in either one. And you don't have to dump any oil out if you're just replacing the seal...
Technically you don't have to put new oil in either one. And you don't have to dump any oil out if you're just replacing the seal. There are ways.