Powerseal USA

3/6/2018 6:18pm
Hey guys I’m going to send my cylinder to Powerseal USA this week to be replated for a new top end build. I have zero experience with powervalves and I’d rather not remove them myself. I know they need to be removed for the plating process. If they remove them for me do they clean them as well? They look a bit gunked up. As I’m filling out my service order form I see this “NOTE: Cleaning & re-installation of studs and valve is NOT included”. So basically they will remove it for $30 but leave it up to me to put back in? Sorry but this is my first time with a powervalve engine. Bike is a 2011 YZ 250 if any of you have removed/installed the powervalve before. Also, has anyone had them do the squish mod for these bikes? I sent my head to Eric Gorr last summer and I just don’t feel confident in his work after reading about him on here. Should of done some searching before letting him work on it Dizzy
|
sandman768
3/7/2018 5:25am
Pull the power valves out yourself, very easy on the YZ, soak them in solvent , I like to use 1 gal container called "chem dip" can be bought at Walmart. then clean them yourself, gently clean them with scotchbrite pad, if heavy carbon deposits you can use a razor blade,..the cyl studs should come out also, they will charge you 30.00 to do it, takes about 15 mins with doubled up nuts....They will not reinstall the studs or powervalve unless you request it, will be more $... you need to perform a squish test during reassembly to determine what if anything needs to be done to your head...I would have Powersealusa match a piston during the plating process. I have had several cylinders done by them and they do very nice work. Whenever you come to something your are not sure about with your top end assembly just go to utube, I have learned a lot from various videos & good engine builder sites...you will also want to check your cyl and head surfaces for warpage, again, very easy with straight edge & feeler gauges.
kb228