Troy Herfoss Earns 3rd at Round 1 Supermoto

Monroe, WA – HMC KTM’s Troy Herfoss picked up the final podium position in the Supermoto Premier class at the first round of the AMA Supermoto Series with his teammate Chris Fillmore only one spot back.

Herfoss started the day off well when he earned 2nd place in his heat which gave him a great starting spot for the main event. Fillmore, who turned the fastest lap time in practice, suffered a hard crash in his heat race and had to charge his way back up to take one of the last qualifying positions.

With rain falling on and off throughout the weekend one of the two dirt sections had to be removed from the course. In addition, the clouds started to move in overhead as the lights turned green for the gate drop of the Supermoto Premier main event. Herfoss got out to a solid 3rd place start while Fillmore had to come through the pack from his lousy gate pick which shut him out around the first turn. Fillmore eventually caught up to Herfoss and was sitting right behind him in 4th on the ninth lap. He made the pass on his teammate right before the rain began to pour down. Although he had now moved into 3rd the AMA officials called the race once the rain had made the track too slippery and dangerous for the slick Supermoto race tires. The officials made the decision to determine the race results based off of the ninth lap which credited Herfoss with a podium position and Fillmore would finish right behind in 4th.

KTM’s Director of Racing, Kurt Nicoll, is looking to be a threat for the Unlimited Pro Championship this year. He turned the fastest practice time and won his heat early in the day. In the main event he pulled the holeshot but shortly after went sideways up a hill losing some positions. He recovered and passed for 2nd place where he would finish the moto.

Next Event: Round 2, Hartford CT – August 9-10, 2008
Supermoto Premier Overall Results:
1. Mark Burkhart
2. Cassidy Anderson
3. Troy Herfoss – KTM
4. Chris Fillmore – KTM
5. David Pingree

Supermoto Unlimited Overall Results:
1. Steve Drew – KTM
2. Kurt Nicoll – KTM
3. Josh Chisum – KTM

Create New Tag

GuyB 7/8/2008 12:57 PM

0 comments newest first

Show More Comment(s)